Association of Retired
Flag Rank Officers

04th June 2024 15:36:54 Hours

26th Annual General Meeting - ARFRO

The Association of Retired Flag Rank Officers (ARFRO) was founded by the late General Deshamanya Denis Perera in 1996. The 26th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Association took place on May 18, 2024, at the Organization of Professionals Association. The AGM was attended by 85 members, including former commanders of the three services.

ARFRO consists of officers who have held senior appointments in the Army, Navy, and Air Force, with ranks of Brigadier, Commodore, Air Commodore, or higher. The membership brings a wealth of experience that enriches future generations of officers. To this end, ARFRO conducts seminars, workshops, and study tours, along with various social activities for the benefit of both its members and serving officers. Additionally, ARFRO supports ex-servicemen, women, and their dependents through the Ranaviru Family Counselling and Support Service (RFCSS), helping them to live "free from want."

ARFRO is also affiliated with the Organization of Professionals Association (OPA). At the recent AGM, Air Chief Marshal G.P. Bulathsinghala was re-elected as the President for the 2024-2025 term, and continued as the 10th President. The Office Bearers Executive Committee Members who were elected at the AGM:

Office Bearers :President: Air Chief Marshal G P Bulathsinghala RWP RSP VSV USP, Immediate Past President: Major General L C R Goonewardene RSP VSV USP (ex-officio), Vice Presidents:, Rear Admiral Deshabandhu D S Molligoda VSV USP Major General M D S Chandrapala RWP RSP VSV USP, Hony. Secretary: AVM J P Wanigatunga VSV USP, Hony. Treasurer: Major General M S C Perera USP, Chairman, RFCSS: Surgeon Rear Admiral N E L W Jayasekera VSV USP

Executive Committee Members: Maj Gen N A Jayasuriya RWP RSP, Major General W G U M R Perera USP, Major General M A M Peiris USP, Major General G S Padumadasa VSV USP, Major General R V Udawatta, Rear Admiral H S Rathnakeerthi VSV USP, Rear Admiral A V Abeyasena, Rear Admiral A R Amarasinghe RSP VSV USP, Rear Admiral W M P L Weerasinghe VSV USP, AVM O D N L Perera RWP VSV USP, AVM K Yahampath VSV USP, AVM A W E Wijesuriya USP.

CO-Opted members: Advisor to President Gen C S Weerasooriya RWP RSP VSV USP, Advisor to Journal Editor AVM V D A Dissanayake VSV, Editor Brig. R M Jayasinghe USP, Advisor to RFCSS Maj Gen (Dr) K D P Perera USP, Advisor in Legal Matters AVM K S E Perera USP, Membership Drive Maj Gen V U B Nanayakkara VSV USP, Special Projects/Fund Raising Maj Gen J A R S K Jayasekera USP, Web Development Maj Gen N M Hettiarachchi VSV USP, SLCMP Coordinator Brig. E R P Weerawardena, Accounts Brig. P C Boteju, RFCSS Constitution Air Cdre M Gamachari USP